Yard and Boom Rough Out

I decided to use 8/4 VG Douglas Fir for the Yard and Boom.  This allowed me to side step scarfing and additional laminations.  Once again, my Thule ski rack on my Subaru came in very handy to haul the 13′ stick home.  I’ve used my ski rack as much to haul lumber as I have skis.

DSC00001

This is what the two sticks looked like after planing to approximate thickness.

DSC00005

The plans call for a round Yard of 1,3/4″ diameter.  I planed my Yard to 1,5/8″ for the following reasons:

  1. I’m using Doug Fir which I believe is a little stronger than spruce.
  2. I’m not shaping to complete round, hence the 16 sided stick will have a little more material left in it than a round stick.
  3. I want to reduce weight aloft as much as possible.
  4. Finally, if it breaks, I’ll build another one (but I don’t think it will).

DSC00006

Here is the Yard after removing the corners on the table saw.  I then used a hand plane and took a small amount off each corner…just took the edge off.  I like the chiseled look, so I think I’ll leave it very close to this shape.

DSC00002

Finally, I took a few moments to cut out the Mast plugs.  In accordance to the wisdom of others, I will be drilling a hole in the bottom plugs of approximately 1/2″ for proper air circulation.  Then, I spent an hour cleaning my shop.  It’s amazing how good it can make you feel just to clean your shop.  After all that planing, it was very dusty.  All is well now.

2 thoughts on “Yard and Boom Rough Out

  1. I suggest that the 1/2″ vent hole is neither needed nor advisable. See the thread “Hollow Mast Venting” in the SCAMP SCA Message board. Once the spar is completed with epoxy, it is sealed, no water intrusion will occur and pressure variation due to temperature change is negligible. The vent hole will invite water intrusion and trouble.

  2. Steve, thank you for your comment. Yes, I did read this thread and found many good points on both sides of the aisle. In the end, I wanted a 3/8″ hole in the bottom of my mast. I also realize I may have some water enter through the upper mast hole used to secure the block. Though maybe not entirely necessary, I am more comfortable allowing the mast to breath a bit. Thanks again for your comments. Brent

Leave a Reply

