Additional Cleating

There is a fair amount of cleating that needs to be installed before moving forward. These all need two coats of epoxy and sanding prior to installation.  There seems to be a lot of small tedious work in preparation for the next step.  I’m always amazed at how long this preparation takes.  It’s always a dap here and a touch there…waiting in between before proceeding.  My goals for this week are to:

  1. Install all additional cleating
  2. Complete all sanding
  3. Install stern
  4. Paint interior parts of boat (while I can still reach them)DSC00001DSC00002Clamping was my only choice for the CB Case area. DSC00005I used a brad nailer to set the cleating in place and then clamped for additional pressure.DSC00006I labeled all the cleats prior to glue up for clarity.  Once glued, I didn’t want to make a mistake installing the cleats.  There is a lot going on here and the epoxy is curing.  A Sharpie helped me keep track of all the pieces.  The numbering designation is:  BH 5-6, H stands for horizontal piece.

I spend more time cleaning up than installing.  There is always a lot of squeeze out, but it’s much easier to clean up now than after the epoxy has cured.

Anxious to get some planks up.

2 thoughts on “Additional Cleating

  1. Looks like you’re doing a great job, Brent. I’m way behind on my blogging, have been too busy building. A couple thoughts 1) epoxy cleanup – best way I have found is with a little stick – maybe 6″ long, 3/4″ wide, 1/8″ thick, sanded to a sharp wedge, like a little scarf joint, but done so that the edge is angled. Works slick to go along the edge of the cleat and get that glue squeeze-out. I make two, one angled each way. 2) The cockpit sole is angled a couple degrees, so I found it contacted my bulkhead/cleats at the back and there was a gap at the front. If I was building another boat I would have beveled those cleats a bit to get a better fit. Probably too late for you, too. Oh, well. — Dave

  2. Dave, Good suggestions. I have been using a small plastic putty knife for cleanup, but I’ll try the small wooden stick suggestion. And, yes…I already have all the sole cleating in place (un-beveled). I suppose a right good thick fillet will have to suffice.
    thanks for the ideas,
    Brent

Leave a Reply

