Installing Plank #1

I was a little nervous about this next step.  Though I understood the proper steps, the front of the boat had me a little concerned.  It takes a lot of pressure to bring the plank into proper shape and conformity where it meets BH1.  Many have devised elaborate clamping methods to aid in this process and help hold things straight.  After staring at this dilemma for over an hour, I settled on a different approach.  My thought, given my situation, was to bring both panels together at the same time, thus equalizing the pull from both sides.DSC00007I stitched both #1 panels up to the front, without attaching either panel to BH1.  I then wired both panels to BH1 at the same time, while checking with my level.  Not perfect, but very close.  It passed the “ham n egger” standard.  DSC00004I had forgotten to bevel the edges of BH1.  After marking the offsets, I used my hand plane to create the bevel.DSC00009All stitched up and ready for epoxy.DSC00011I pushed the copper wiring in, to help conceal it within the fillet.  DSC00013DSC00014The fillet will glide right over this and conceal the wiring.  DSC00020I used 3″ fiberglass to lay over the panel/hull joint.  The tape line provided a nice visual to help keep the glass straight.  Per instructions, I did not glass the plank/bulkhead joints. DSC00002A formidable front view of this awesome little boat.  It looks like it wants to run over whatever’s in it’s path. DSC00003DSC00001

 I love the look of this little boat.  It just keeps getting prettier and prettier with each step.

Summary:

These are the steps that I followed

  1. Wire on the panel, stitching along the panel/hull joint every 6″ – 8″.  Additionally, I placed one stitch in each bulkhead.
  2. Measure and cut all the fiberglass strips to length.  Set these strips aside, clearly marked for location.
  3. Wet all joint areas with unthickened epoxy.
  4. Fillet all joints, both plank/hull and plank/BH with thickened epoxy.
  5. Work the fillets to your satisfaction, cleaning up all “jet streams” (my term for the spill out).
  6. Roll unthickened epoxy into 3″ fiberglass strips.
  7. Place fiberglass strips onto wet fillet and work carefully into the fillet.
  8. Wait 6 – 8 hours, then brush additional epoxy into fiberglass weave.
  9. Wait at least 24 hours, then scrape/sand all joint areas.
  10. Tape off location for next fillet joint.
  11. Paint the panel (this takes time, but means you won’t need to contort your body into a trapeze artist to paint the inside of your boat).
  12. Install next panel.

 Panel #2 coming next

Leave a Reply

