Deck Preparations

With the carlins installed, I am ready to focus my efforts on the deck.  Before I can install it however, there is some prep work to do.DSC00006The carlins need to be shaved or files to match the angle of the gunwales for good deck contact.  This isn’t perfectly flat, but I’ll probably stop here.  A little thickened epoxy will finish the job.DSC00009I filed down the bow blocks installed between the gunwales and the carlins.  This block will provide good backing for the bow anchor chocks to be installed later.  DSC00012I am glueing up plywood scraps which will be trimmed and used as backer plates for the 4 deck cleats.  DSC00013To finish things off, I glued up the deck.  The weights I’m using here are Shackleton’s ballast plates.  They have come in very handy.

Hoping to have the deck installed by next weekend.  

Leave a Reply

