Cabin Windows

While I was working on deck preparations, I decided to take time to work on cabin windows (yes, now I’m multi tasking which I said earlier I would not do).  As I get closer to finishing this build, it seems I want to speed up more in anticipation of completion.  So, cabin windows.  In checking the internet, the beautiful brass windows referenced in the plans ranged between $60 – 125/per light.  This seemed excessive to me, so I decided to go with the ham’n egger approach and build my own.  DSC00003I first cut out the window opening in the cabin side panels.  I then drilled holes and rounded the edges (and applied more epoxy).  DSC00006Not knowing how to secure the window lens, I called the smartest guy I know to consult.  My dad said, “Son, you need a 3/8″ offset router bit”,  A who?  “Home Depots got em”.  So off I went to purchase the strange bit.   $29 dollars later, I had the bit in hand. DSC00007 After cutting 4 round hoops from 1/4″ plywood, I used the router to cut the offset.  It worked like a champ.  Now, the lens can be securely held in place by the outer hoops.  The Lexan panels were purchased from Home Depot for $4.95/ea.  I cut the circular shape on my band saw.  DSC00006Two coats of epoxy later, I was ready for finish paint.DSC00051I found this Rust-Oleum Copper Hammered paint and thought I would give it a try.DSC00053DSC00055The results were amazing.  The paint goes on as a solid color and then begins to separate into the blotchy hammered look.  It levels out remarkably well and dries very fast.  It created a very neat looking window frame.

These window frames are lightweight, simple and easy to build.  If you don’t want to spend $200 on beautiful heavy windows, give these a try.  I’m very happy with the results.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cabin Windows

  1. Dave,

    Given that the windows do not lead to a water tight chamber or a closed cabin, I can’t seem to find a good reason to seal them. It wouldn’t be hard to do, I’m just not sure what I would be gaining. So, I’m not planning on using a bedding compound.

    Brent

Leave a Reply

