My Birthday Wish

I really wanted to have the boat turned over for my birthday.  Well, tomorrow is my birthday and would you look at Shackleton.  Flipped and ready…waiting for proper care and feeding.DSC00032I didn’t install the back rest or transom cap, feeling it would be easier to turn the boat over before completing these steps.  So, after turning Shackleton back over, I will add these pieces.DSC00030Who engineered these straps?  They ought to loosen incrementally (as they do when tightening).  Would this be too much to ask?  This would give one perfect control.  Oh well, I had several buddies come over and help me set the boat down onto sawhorses.

DSC00035I started cleaning up the edges (couldn’t resist).  I think this will go faster than I anticipated.    In this photo, you can see my first mistake with this build.  Notice the notch outs in the hull?  These were suppose to face upward.  This was an easy fix.  If you build any wooden boat, you will make mistakes.  Remember, the secret is to work through the mistakes and not get discouraged.  You can fix anything with wood and epoxy.  Though you might need a file and block plane.  DSC00034I screwed 2/4’s onto the top of wooden sawhorses so that they would span across the deck (from gunwale to gunwale).  I also placed stone blocks with a wooden shim under the mast box.  This prevents the boat from rocking forward (which it wants to do).  Now it feels secure for confidently working on the hull.

Next step:  Fillet the planks, smooth the fillets, epoxy and glass the bottom.  

7 thoughts on “My Birthday Wish

  1. Happy Birthday Brent, I have been enjoying reading your account of building Shackelton. I first found your blog from a Google image search where I was looking for a Suzuki 2.5 on a transom mount, because I just bought the same outboard for my Jimmy Skiff, Little did I know that coming here would get me daydreaming about building a Scamp, The capsize videos with Howard Rice, and all of the other Scamp sailing videos are very impressive. You are doing a fantastic job! Thanks for sharing.
    Ron Paro
    http://jimmyskiff.blogspot.com/

  2. Ron,
    Thanks for the comment. It’s always fun to hear what other builders are doing and thinking. I’m glad you have enjoyed the blog. It somehow seems to provide meaning to all the little things we do to these boats to get them the way we like them. Great way to finish off the day. I’ll check out your blog also.
    Thanks again,
    Brent

  3. Brent – I remember it was satisfying to get the hull flipped and get to work where ‘the rubber meets the road’.

    I was able to multitask with some internal painting while the hull was inverted. Places like the inside of the cabin roof are easier to deal with upside down. But the sawhorses get in the way.

    However, I found that the boat was nice and stable with just the rear sawhorse and the blocking under the mast trunk, and that left a lot of room to move around and work underneath, so you might try that.

    — Dave

    http://woodnmetalguy.blogspot.com

  4. Dave,
    Great suggestion. I’ll try this…I was wondering how to get better access under the front saw horse.
    Thanks,
    Brent

Leave a Reply

