Glueing Skegs to the hull

After applying 2 layers of glass over the Red Oak skegs, it was time to epoxy them onto the hull.  I wet both surfaces with unthickened epoxy (several wet layers for good absorption into the oak), then thickened up the epoxy with colloidal silicon for a strong paste.  I used plenty of paste…I didn’t want any air pockets beneath the skegs.  DSC00045 DSC00047 DSC00046I used steel plates (ballast for Shackleton) as weights to hold down the skegs.  Each of these plates weigh around 26 lb.  I added a soft towel strip between the plates and the skegs to increase friction, keeping the plates from slipping off.  The weight caused good squeeze-out all around the skegs.  I cleaned this up with stick and paper towel.  I then worked additional thickened epoxy into any areas that appeared to have a slight gap.  DSC00036After allowing the epoxy to set for about 10 hours, I laid down a hefty fillet.DSC00038DSC00037Summary:

This is a good step to have behind me.  The skegs took a lot of hand work to get a proper fit against the hull.  I’m looking forward to applying graphite epoxy to the lower sections of the hull.  I’ve decided to go with Interlux Brightside Hatteras White on the upper sections of the hull.  

4 thoughts on “Glueing Skegs to the hull

  1. I just found your blog and wanted to tell you it is great. I loved the way you started by building the spars first and then progressed into the kit. It totally opened me up to starting this project sooner than later looking at it through your eyes. I think I am going to buy the plans soon and then copy your steps so I can get going without having to physically (and financially!) dive into the hull. I also love the details you are playing with and look forward to using your blog as a second manual. I also share a love of cycling although I mostly commute to my job through farmland to the small village where I teach as opposed to long recreational rides. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Peter,
    So glad to hear from you…glad you are enjoying the blog and my cycling blog. Sailing and cycling are two very special things to me. I’m fairly new to sailing, but loving this build and looking forward to getting my boat finished for this summer. I feel privileged to being able to build this boat. How many dudes in the history of the World have had the opportunity to build a sailboat? I am very glad I purchased the kit. In fact, I’m not sure I would be completing this build if I had not purchased the kit. My attention span is not that great…I’v never built anything that took over a year. The kit was a lifesaver for me. Good luck and thanks again for the comment. I hope my blog can be a help to you. Feel free to ask any questions you might have.

    Brent

  3. Nice to get those skegs on!! I think you nailed the leading-edge profile on them too, they’ll easily ride up and over obstructions on the beach, and be easier to get onto the trailer than my “snub-nosed” profile!

  4. Dale,
    Thanks for the comments. It’s always fun to hear from others who have forged the way. I had read about the problems with the stock shape, namely loading and beaching, so I cut the front smoothly down to 3/8″. I also laid a fillet on the front edge to transitions down to the hull. Hopefully it will work OK. I’m now epoxying the hull with graphite…resulting blog post coming tomorrow.
    Brent

Leave a Reply

