Final Coat of Graphite

The final coat of graphite went on at 4:00 am this morning.  It seemed to go on beautifully…quelling some of yesterday’s concerns.  I had to include a few more photographs of Shackleton.  Enjoy.DSC00040

DSC00036Notice the brush hair just off the drain hole.DSC00035DSC00039DSC00037DSC00035I gotta say thank you to those who encouraged this graphite finish for the lower section of my hull.  I love the heavy, solid look it portrays.  It should be tough, slippery and easy to maintain.  My idea was to wrap it up the sides approximately 2″ above the DWL.  This wrapped look seems to add a physiological feeling of safety to the hull.  Creating a feeling that all is well down under.  I’m really happy how this turned out.

Paint for the lower section arrived yesterday.  I can’t wait to see how the Hatteras White looks against the black.  But, first I need to epoxy and fair (the glass termination edge) the lower section.

Leave a Reply

