Cockpit Coamings Installed

Wow, I can’t believe I’m actually working on the last few pieces of this build.  For anyone reading wondering if they can build a Scamp, my advise is:  Yes, if you are persistent and not afraid to work through problems and willing to work everyday for just over a year.  Otherwise, go buy one.

I have truly enjoyed this experience.  But, I’m a ham n egger who loves a project.  If you are a white glove guy, maybe you should start with a kayak and see how you enjoy it.

Enough sappy talk, let’s get to those cockpit coamings.

DSC00035I first marked out where I wanted all the holes drilled.  After double checking all measurements, I drilled out both coamings for a uniform look.  I then used a counter sink on each coaming to insure the screw head was inset.  I also rounded all exposed edges with an 1/8″ round over bit.

DSC00039 DSC00037After proper glue up technique, I screwed the coamings into the gunwales.  I used 1″ ss screws placed about 6″ apart all the way along the coaming.

DSC00036I then laid a fillet into the outside edge of the coaming.  This required 2 fillets for proper shape and size.

DSC00040Now for the triangular pieces.  DSC00046 After shaping the triangular pieces, and angling the edges to better fit against the coaming and cabin side, I clamped them in place and filleted the inside seams.  I will fillet and glass the outside seams once the inside fillet has cured.  DSC00045Inside fillet.

DSC00035

I’ll clean up the edges of the glass after filling with epoxy.

One thought on “Cockpit Coamings Installed

Leave a Reply

