Center Board Retrieval Line and Touch Up

DSC00429With my boat up off the floor, I was ready to install my center board retrieval line.  I used a forsner bit to drill a neat straight hole up into the forward bottom edge of the center board.  I drilled approximately 1″ into the board.  I used a nail to apply unthickened epoxy into the drilled hole.  Then I thickened the epoxy and added the line.

DSC00433I’ll cut the line to a finish length after I test it during a capsize drill.

DSC00434With the boat up off the trailer, I also touched up some areas of excessive wear from the trailer bow pads.

Summary:

I’m now ready to apply my high gloss finish to the top side (remember, my first matte finish failed miserably and needed to be all scraped off).  This was a bit of a disappointment, but heck, now I know how to refinish the boat.  Honestly, I had no choice but to refinish it.

Leave a Reply

