Footwell, Part 2

With the sole cut away revealing the foot well, I needed to remove the paint in this area. DSC00417After 20 minutes with my orbital sander (80 grit), my hull looked like this.  DSC0041945 minutes later, the hull looked like this.DSC00420 I wanted to create an Old World look with the foot well.  I took a piece of 3/8″ Okoume plywood and routed small cuts 2.5″ apart to simulate planking.DSC00422Two coats of epoxy applied to top sides of panels (applied 8 hours apart).  I did not sand between coats.  This created a natural non-skid texture.  At this point, the back side of the panels are raw uncoated plywood.  I wet the back sides with un-thickened and then thickened epoxy when I installed the panels. DSC00416I used my ballast to weigh down the panels.  Once cured, I’ll create a large fillet to the edges, tying the panels to all surrounding bulkheads.  I’ll then finish with high gloss spar varnish.

Steps I took:

  1. Cut out the sole with jig saw.
  2. Cut the sole flush with the bulkhead cleating on the aft side BH 5 and the forward side of BH6 using a flush-cut router bit.
  3. Round over all edges.
  4. Remove bottom paint with scraper and orbital sander.
  5. Cut to fit hull doubler using 3/8″ plywood pieces (It requires two pieces, one piece won’t fit through the opening).
  6. Planed the back side edges of the panel pieces to fit over the existing fillet between the hull and bulkheads (this allows the panels to fit flat).
  7. Applied 2 coats of epoxy to the top side of panels.
  8. Applied wet epoxy to the back side of panels and the foot well.
  9. Spread thickened epoxy on both back side panels and foot well.
  10. Install and weight the panels.
2 thoughts on “Footwell, Part 2

  1. To make non-skid brightwork, I have heard that you can sprinkle granulated sugar onto your last coat of varnish. When dry, wash with water, dissolving the sugar granules, leaving behind textured varnish. I haven’t done it myself, but that might work on your “floorboards” in the footwell.

  2. Brian, thanks for the comments. Sounds like it would work, though I also have never tried it. As for my floorboards, I simply didn’t ever sand between the coats of epoxy. They look slippery, but there not.

Leave a Reply

