Finishing Footwell and adding Stern Tow Eye

I’m always surprised how many steps it takes to complete a task, especially if you’re trying to do it right. The footwell has taken quite some time, but I’m happy to say I’m almost finished and I can feel it starting to give.

DSC00417The bottom piece (3/8″ Okoume) is finished with multiple coats of high gloss spar varnish after 3 coats of epoxy and a large fillet around the edges.  The two oval access holes that exist in bulkhead 6 were covered over using 3/8″ Okoume overlays.  I though about covering these from the back side of BH6 (I will be adding an access port to the back side of BH6) but decided to overlay the ovals on the front side of BH6 in oder to provide the strongest solution.  That way, if they got kicked really hard, there is no danger of them popping through.

I now need to remove the screws (used for clamping) from the ovals, fill with thickened epoxy and touch up paint all exposed edges/additions.  I’m very happy with how this is turning out.  If you want a footwell, my advise is to go for it.  

Now for the stern tow eye.

DSC00421While towing small water craft in Port Townsend, I realized I needed a better place to attach the tow line.  I was using the mast crutch off the stern to secure the line, but this was not ideal and awkward at best.  I first built a 4″ x 6″ backing block of 3/8″ Okoume.  I epoxied this block to the transom using the stern eye bolts as a clamping mechanism.

DSC00419The only logical place I could find to add this tow eye was on the Starboard side of the rudder, near the top of the transom for easy access from the cockpit.

I plan to use a carabiner to quickly attach and detach the tow line.  This will be much quicker and more secure than tying to the mast crutch (which I now plan to remove before launching).

I’m having more fun with my Scamp now than I ever have.  Making it mine is so much fun.  It just keeps getting better and better.  

Leave a Reply

