Stowing the Anchor

Anchors are sharp, clunky, awkward and muddy.  Yet they are a necessity.  Where to store one has been a vexing issue.  Here’s what I came up with.

DSC00451First off, I chose a Fortress Commando lightweight aluminum anchor.  If it doesn’t hold, I’ll go for a heavier one, but if it does hold, I’ll have saved some significant weight.

DSC00452I knocked off two of the exposed rough edges.  After all, I want this to live inside my boat.  I also want to prevent lines from snagging on the anchor.

DSC00455Showing the top ears cut off at a 45 degree angle.

DSC00456I then rounded the ears with a metal file.

DSC00466I made a stern seat board (which I will secure in place) for increased comfort when motoring or working with the anchor.  Near the back corner, I cut a slot to hold the anchor in a vertical, ready to deploy position.

DSC00463 The black piece (yet to be bolted down) is UHMW.  It will protect the plywood edges of the wet storage.  My anchor line will run into the access hole.  The bitter end will be secured inside this wet storage compartment.

DSC00470Showing the V notch cut into the baltic birch.

DSC00467I then ran a black bungie cord around the back of the anchor.  This will keep it in place during a capsize and prevent the anchor from vibrating as I travel down the road.  I think I’ll round off the back ears as well for easier bungie removal.

DSC00475My anchor line runs through a captive bow eye and then back to the cockpit for easy deployment.  I chose to store and deploy off the Port side.  It just felt more natural to me for some strange reason.

DSC00473The brass ring-line allows me to retrieve the bow anchor line while seated from the cockpit.  Remember, you can’t reach the bow.  By drawing in the brass ring-line, the anchor line is brought back to the cockpit for easy retrieval.  Hard to explain, so I won’t try.  I got the idea from Howard Rice off the Scamp forum.  I mocked it up in my garage and I believe it is going to work well.

I’m amazed at all the systems that need to be considered, worked through and solved, in order to have an organized boat.  I keep thinking I should be about done, but there is actually quite a lot to go.  Luckily, I’m still enjoying the process. 

One thought on “Stowing the Anchor

  1. Brent, thanks for the great ideas. I was just going to leave my anchor and rode and chain in a 5 gallon pail. Question, do you think it will be possible to bend a 6mm ply sheet across the cuddly roof? I’m thinking yours was 4.5mm, right? I have good 6mm Doug fir ready to go but am not sure it will be possible to bend it to shape without something shattering!

Leave a Reply

