Organizing a Wooden Boat

One thing I love about a wooden boat is how easy it is to organize exactly to your liking.  This is almost impossible to do with a fiberglass boat, but with wood you attach what you want, where you want it.  You gotta love that!!

My goal was to organize three things:

  1. The garbage (more secure than my last attempt)
  2. The life jackets (when towing or sleeping on board)
  3. Oar stowage (when assembled and inserted into the oarlocks)

Let’s start first with the garbage.  

I had previously used a tea cup to secure the garbage bag.  This was very insecure and would fly off during transport.  I want things nailed down, so when I travel or during an accidental capsize, things stay put.  The tea cup hook just didn’t fit the part and it didn’t secure the garbage.

DSC00449This is the location for the garbage, just forward of the library on the Port side of the boat.

DSC00451I installed a stainless D ring and a carabiner.  Now there is no risk of loosing my stuff sack.

DSC00456The garbage bags are stored inside the fleece stuff sack.  It will hold about a dozen.

DSC00457With the garbage clipped through the carabiner, it isn’t blowing off anytime soon.

Now for the life jackets:

DSC00451Notice the extra bungie cord also attached to the D ring.

DSC00452It can be secured across the library to hang your damp socks on (hanging from the first attachment point).

DSC00455Or, (hanging from the second attachment point) you can secure the jackets out of the way.  This means I can get into all my hatches without moving the jackets.  Do you sense a little OCD here?  Only when things matter…Shackleton matters.

Finally, the oars

DSC00438 I added oar collars.  These fit nicely inside the 2 1/4″ bronze oarlocks.

DSC00440

DSC00430 I then found these bicycling webbing straps that I never use.DSC00425The have a loop in one end, which I ran through the hole in BH 7 and secure with a fastex buckle.

DSC00434They hold the oar just outside the boat and keep the oar from getting in the way of the backrest.  The oars are slightly downhill into the oarlocks, so I don’t think they will move much from this position.

DSC00432The oar stick aft and seem to be very much out of the way.  This will provide a quick and easy way to temporarily secure the oars.

Now designing the bimini/tent combo.  

Leave a Reply

