It Begins Again…Well, Maybe

After thinking long and hard about building another Scamp, I’ve decided to take the first step.

IMG_1123

But, why build another Scamp?

Simply stated, I can’t find another small sailboat I like better.  Scamp has so much going for it.  I want to see if I can improve from my first build.

Are you just going to build it and then get disgruntled and sell it like last time?

I sure hope not.  My goal is to build another boat and then spend time getting to know her and teaching my kids to sail.  I really want to hold this one.

Why not just buy VG Doug Fir for the spars?

Sitka Spruce is approximately 15% lighter than Doug Fir and not much money.  In fact the difference between buying 38 board feet of Doug Fir and Sitka was less than $60.  With this small price differential, Spruce becomes the clear winner.  I want the mast as light as I can get it.  Yet, I’m not tempted by carbon fiber, I like wood.

So does this mean I’m committing to build another Scamp?

Not exactly.  I’m much more comfortable stating I’m committing to building the spars.  I’ll take it that far and see how I feel.  I’ve lost interest before in projects and found them laying around the corner of the wood shop, so I’m taking this opportunity one step at a time.  I’ll build the spars and if that goes well, I’ll consider moving toward the foils.  I’m all about baby steps and small commitments.  Remember, “by small and simple things are great things brought to pass”.

How will I build my spars differently from last time?

  1. 15% lighter, according to internet wood species data.
  2. More hand planing of the mast.  Last time I left it quite chunky  This time I will remove more material, rendering the mast even lighter.
  3. I’ll use a line to secure the block at the top of the mast as opposed to hard attachment, like Jason did with Argo.
  4. I plan to orient the mast block on the aft side of the mast for better halyard alignment (still playing with this).
  5. I’ll take the time to add leather wraps to all contact points.
  6. I’ll slightly oversize the boom (vertically).
  7. I’ll white tip all spar ends for a more historic look.

IMG_1128

Parting shot…like my new hair cut?

This is my dad, who I love very much.  He is 79 years old and can still out work me.  We made the SLC trip together to pick up the spruce.  We had a lot of time to discuss building ideas.  He’s a great designer and engineer.  It’s a huge blessing to have him in my life.  Now let’s fire up the planer and make some wood chips.

7 thoughts on “It Begins Again…Well, Maybe

  1. Hi Brent, I have spent a good amount of time reading and analyzing your detailed blog and have learned a lot from it. I started a SCAMP building project here in Finland this spring. It would be interesting to know what you are planning to do different this time. Happy building! Timo

    • Timo,

      Great to hear from you all the way from Finland and glad you are enjoying my build blog. I spent 2 years in Sweden and love Scandinavia. I had no idea how much influence Sweden would have on my life, but I seem to always buy Swedish gear like Gransfors Bruk axes, Svea Optimus stoves and Hilleberg tents. Everything I have purchase from Scandinavia has always been top quality.

      I have detailed most of the changes that I plan to make in my next build in a post entitled, “If I build again”. You can find it by reading back approximately 5-6 of the most recent posts. Scamp is such a unique small sailboat. I hope to make several small but significant changes to my next build.

      How is your build coming for you? At what build stage are you? We should have a Scandinavia Scamp Rendezvous at some point in the future. Maybe I’ll ship my boat over and attend.

      Best,
      Brent

  2. Cool. Glad you’re building and blogging again. I’m working on my boat that was started at Scamp Camp 2015 in Port Townsend. I’ve got a Doug Fir mast made by students at the Wooden Boat School, but no spars. Yet. So I’m interested in your process for building the boom and yard in particular. I’m also thinking seriously of building on a lazerette. I see it flush with the seats and slanted on the front for sitting against. Put a hatch on the top and you’re recovered much of the space lost to the full-size foot well, which I’m incorporating.

    • Bruce, Excellent to hear from you. So glad you are also building a Scamp. I’ll blog about the build at: buildinghagoth.wordpress.com I’m also glad to hear you might be incorporating a lazarette. I totally agree with your thoughts on recapturing this space. It also reduces water ingress and creates a hatch that is always above the water line (even if the boat is on its side). And, yes I will also slope the front face to create a comfortable back rest. I would love to see pictures of your build if you have any to share.
      Best,
      Brent

Leave a Reply

